平等,種族和多樣性資源

在2020 06-01-1.55.32 PM屏幕截圖 @奧哈皮達尼

一個很好的起點:

阿靈頓公立學校公平與卓越辦公室

國家非裔美國人歷史與文化博物館–談論種族

不錯的設計:您的孩子還太年輕,無法談論種族嗎? 不。

 

在2020 06-02-9.14.28 PM屏幕截圖

兒童書籍:

兒童玩具:

兒童影片:

成人書籍:

成人資源:

教師資源:

要跟踪的帳戶:

霍拉克校長的聲明:

 

二零二零年六月十一號

下午好,阿賓登社區:

我希望此消息能使您和您的親人健康。

至少可以說,過去一周在美國發生的事件是動蕩的。 從大規模的和平抗議到可怕的暴力行為,我們屏幕上的圖像和聲音很難處理。 在我們整個歷史上影響非裔美國人公民的不公正現象造成了人們目前所感受到的這種原始感。 這是我們所有人都應該關注如何聆聽理解,作為一個社區和一個國家治愈,並致力於在我們周圍創造更美好世界的時候。

阿靈頓校務委員會和APS已經發布了有關事件的聲明,可以在此處閱讀: https://www.apsva.us/post/a-message-from-the-superintendent-and-school-board/

阿賓登(Abingdon)是一個社區,完全可以在很小的範圍內幫助建立一個更加和平與公正的社會。 這個社區的成員來自全球各地,來自社會各個階層。 我可以告訴你,吸引和留住Abingdon員工的一件事就是這種美麗的多樣性。 確實,這是我申請這份工作的主要原因之一。 在阿賓登的屋簷下,我們自豪地擁有阿靈頓所能提供的一切,我們期待每天為學生提供服務。

我們正在採取多種方式來幫助建立理解並創造更美好的世界。 員工正在努力確保我們的信念和實踐立足於創建一所公平的學校。 我們正在與我們的多元化,平等與包容性首席官Arron Gregory及其團隊合作,評估我們學校的公平程度,以及如何使Abingdon成為每個人的更好地方。 這項工作包括查看我們為學生提供的教學和紀律做法,以及我們的員工如何相互協作和溝通。

對於我們的學生,阿賓登(Abingdon)致力於開發我們的社會情感學習計劃。 在接下來的幾年中,我們將實施 響應式教室 進入每個K-5教室。 那,連同我們的 第二步 輔導課程和課程 教學容忍,是一種有效的組合,可幫助學生髮展積極的社交技能,例如同理心,同情心,團隊合作和協作能力。 這些技能對於學生的學術成長至關重要。 這些技能還可以幫助學生更積極地進行互動,並為更加包容和熱情的環境打下基礎。

在APS宣布2020-21年將如何提供指導之後,領導團隊和我將提出更多細節,以確保這項工作在親自學習或遠程學習的框架內繼續進行。 作為其中的一部分,我將與我們的新任總監杜蘭博士以及格里高利先生聯繫,參加阿賓登社區的活動,以幫助解決我們的員工,父母和整個社區的擔憂。

關於如何幫助學生在家中處理這些事件,請訪問我們的 諮詢網站。 關於公平的資源越來越多,與您的學生談論種族和其他話題。

感謝您在使APS和Abingdon成為真正的生活和工作場所方面所做的持續工作和支持。

 

校長David Horak

Equity, Race, and Diversity Resources

Screen Shot 2020-06-01 at 1.55.32 PM @ohhappydani

A Great Place to Start:

Arlington Public Schools Office of Equity and Excellence

National Museum of African American History & Culture – Talking about Race

Pretty Good Design: Are your kids too young to talk about race? Nope.

 

Screen Shot 2020-06-02 at 9.14.28 PM

Books for Kids:

Toys for Kids:

Videos for Kids:

Books for Adults:

Resources for Adults:

Resources for Teachers:

Accounts to Follow:

Statement from Principal Horak:

 

June 2, 2020

Good Afternoon Abingdon Community:

I hope that this message finds you and your loved ones healthy.

The events of the past week in the United States have been turbulent to say the least.  From large scale peaceful protests to frightening acts of violence, the images and sounds on our screens are hard to process. The injustices that have impacted African American citizens throughout our history have created this rawness currently being felt.  This is a time for us all to be concerned about how we can listen to understand, heal as a community and a country, and work to create a better world around us.

The Arlington School Board and APS has put out a statement pertaining to the events, which can be read here: https://www.apsva.us/post/a-message-from-the-superintendent-and-school-board/

Abingdon is a community perfectly positioned to, in a small way, help create a more peaceful and just society.  This is a community with members from every part of the globe and from every segment of society.  I can tell you that one thing that draws and keeps staff members at Abingdon is this beautiful diversity; indeed, it was one of the main reasons I applied for this job.  Under Abingdon’s roof, we proudly have all that Arlington has to offer and we look forward to serving our students every day.

We are working in multiple ways to help build understanding and create a better world.  Staff are working to ensure that our beliefs and practices are based in creating an equitable school.  We are working with Arron Gregory, our Chief Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Officer and his team to assess how equitable our school is and how we can make Abingdon a better place for everyone. This work includes looking at our instructional and disciplinary practices for our students, as well as how our staff collaborates and communicates with one another.

For our students, Abingdon is being intentional about developing our social-emotional learning program.  Over the next several years, we will be implementing Responsive Classroom into every K-5 classroom.  That, along with our Second Step counseling curriculum and lessons from Teaching Tolerance, is a potent combination to help students develop positive social skills such as empathy, compassion, teamwork and collaboration.  These skills are essential for students to grow academically.  These skills also help students interact with one another more positively and lay the groundwork for a more inclusive and welcoming environment.

After APS announces how instruction will be delivered in 2020-21, the leadership team and I will put more specifics in place to ensure this work continues within the framework of either in person or distance learning.  As a part of that, I will reach out to Dr. Duran, our new Superintendent, as well as Mr. Gregory to attend functions with the Abingdon community to help address concerns of our staff, parents and larger community.

As to how you can help your students at home process these events, please visit our counseling website.  There is a growing number of resources about equity, talking to your students about race and other topics.

Thank you for your continued work and support in making APS and Abingdon truly special places to live and work.

 

David Horak, Principal