حقوق الملكية والعرق والتنوع في الموارد

لقطة من الشاشة 2020-06-01 في 1.55.32 PM @أوهابيداني

مكان عظيم للبدء:

مكتب الإنصاف والتميز في مدارس أرلينغتون العامة

المتحف الوطني للتاريخ والثقافة الأمريكية الأفريقية - الحديث عن العرق

تصميم جيد جدًا: هل أطفالك أصغر من أن يتحدثوا عن العرق؟ لا.

 

لقطة من الشاشة 2020-06-02 في 9.14.28 PM

كتب للأطفال:

ألعاب للأطفال:

مقاطع فيديو للأطفال:

كتب للكبار:

موارد للبالغين:

موارد للمعلمين:

الحسابات التي يجب متابعتها:

تصريح من المدير هوراك:

 

2 يونيو، 2020

مساء الخير مجتمع ابينجدون:

أتمنى أن تكون هذه الرسالة في صحة جيدة لك ولأحبائك.

أقل ما يقال عن أحداث الأسبوع الماضي في الولايات المتحدة كانت مضطربة. من الاحتجاجات السلمية واسعة النطاق إلى أعمال العنف المخيفة ، يصعب معالجة الصور والأصوات على شاشاتنا. لقد خلقت المظالم التي أثرت على المواطنين الأمريكيين من أصل أفريقي طوال تاريخنا هذه القسوة التي نشعر بها حاليًا. هذا هو الوقت المناسب لنا جميعًا لنهتم بكيفية الاستماع إلى الفهم والشفاء كمجتمع وبلد ، والعمل على خلق عالم أفضل من حولنا.

أصدر مجلس مدرسة أرلينغتون و APS بيانًا يتعلق بالأحداث ، يمكن قراءته هنا: https://www.apsva.us/post/a-message-from-the-superintendent-and-school-board/

أبينجدون هو مجتمع في وضع مثالي يمكنه ، بطريقة صغيرة ، المساعدة في إنشاء مجتمع أكثر سلامًا وعدالة. هذا مجتمع به أعضاء من كل جزء من العالم ومن كل شريحة من المجتمع. أستطيع أن أخبرك أن الشيء الوحيد الذي يجذب الموظفين في أبينجدون ويحافظ عليهم هو هذا التنوع الجميل ؛ في الواقع ، كان هذا أحد الأسباب الرئيسية التي تقدمت بها لشغل هذه الوظيفة. تحت سقف أبينجدون ، لدينا بفخر كل ما تقدمه أرلينغتون ونتطلع إلى خدمة طلابنا كل يوم.

نحن نعمل بطرق متعددة للمساعدة في بناء التفاهم وخلق عالم أفضل. يعمل الموظفون على ضمان أن تستند معتقداتنا وممارساتنا إلى إنشاء مدرسة عادلة. نحن نعمل مع Arron Gregory ، كبير مسؤولي التنوع والإنصاف والشمول لدينا وفريقه لتقييم مدى عدالة مدرستنا وكيف يمكننا جعل Abingdon مكانًا أفضل للجميع. يتضمن هذا العمل النظر في ممارساتنا التعليمية والتأديبية لطلابنا ، وكذلك كيفية تعاون موظفينا والتواصل مع بعضهم البعض.

بالنسبة لطلابنا ، يتعمد Abingdon تطوير برنامج التعلم الاجتماعي والعاطفي. على مدى السنوات العديدة القادمة ، سوف ننفذ الفصل الدراسي المستجيب في كل فصل دراسي K-5. هذا ، جنبًا إلى جنب مع الخطوة الثانية منهج الإرشاد والدروس من تدريس التسامح، هو مزيج فعال لمساعدة الطلاب على تطوير مهارات اجتماعية إيجابية مثل التعاطف والرحمة والعمل الجماعي والتعاون. هذه المهارات ضرورية للطلاب للنمو أكاديميًا. تساعد هذه المهارات أيضًا الطلاب على التفاعل مع بعضهم البعض بشكل أكثر إيجابية وإرساء الأساس لبيئة أكثر شمولاً وترحيباً.

بعد أن تعلن APS عن كيفية تقديم التعليمات في 2020-21 ، سنضع أنا وفريق القيادة المزيد من التفاصيل لضمان استمرار هذا العمل في إطار التعلم الشخصي أو عن بعد. كجزء من ذلك ، سأتواصل مع الدكتور دوران ، المشرف الجديد لدينا ، وكذلك السيد جريجوري لحضور المناسبات مع مجتمع أبينجدون للمساعدة في معالجة مخاوف موظفينا وأولياء الأمور والمجتمع الأكبر.

فيما يتعلق بكيفية مساعدة طلابك في المنزل على معالجة هذه الأحداث ، يرجى زيارة موقعنا موقع الاستشارة. هناك عدد متزايد من الموارد حول الإنصاف ، والتحدث إلى طلابك حول العرق ومواضيع أخرى.

شكرًا لك على عملك المستمر ودعمك في جعل APS و Abingdon مكانين مميزين حقًا للعيش والعمل.

 

ديفيد هوراك ، مدير

Equity, Race, and Diversity Resources

Screen Shot 2020-06-01 at 1.55.32 PM @ohhappydani

A Great Place to Start:

Arlington Public Schools Office of Equity and Excellence

National Museum of African American History & Culture – Talking about Race

Pretty Good Design: Are your kids too young to talk about race? Nope.

 

Screen Shot 2020-06-02 at 9.14.28 PM

Books for Kids:

Toys for Kids:

Videos for Kids:

Books for Adults:

Resources for Adults:

Resources for Teachers:

Accounts to Follow:

Statement from Principal Horak:

 

June 2, 2020

Good Afternoon Abingdon Community:

I hope that this message finds you and your loved ones healthy.

The events of the past week in the United States have been turbulent to say the least.  From large scale peaceful protests to frightening acts of violence, the images and sounds on our screens are hard to process. The injustices that have impacted African American citizens throughout our history have created this rawness currently being felt.  This is a time for us all to be concerned about how we can listen to understand, heal as a community and a country, and work to create a better world around us.

The Arlington School Board and APS has put out a statement pertaining to the events, which can be read here: https://www.apsva.us/post/a-message-from-the-superintendent-and-school-board/

Abingdon is a community perfectly positioned to, in a small way, help create a more peaceful and just society.  This is a community with members from every part of the globe and from every segment of society.  I can tell you that one thing that draws and keeps staff members at Abingdon is this beautiful diversity; indeed, it was one of the main reasons I applied for this job.  Under Abingdon’s roof, we proudly have all that Arlington has to offer and we look forward to serving our students every day.

We are working in multiple ways to help build understanding and create a better world.  Staff are working to ensure that our beliefs and practices are based in creating an equitable school.  We are working with Arron Gregory, our Chief Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Officer and his team to assess how equitable our school is and how we can make Abingdon a better place for everyone. This work includes looking at our instructional and disciplinary practices for our students, as well as how our staff collaborates and communicates with one another.

For our students, Abingdon is being intentional about developing our social-emotional learning program.  Over the next several years, we will be implementing Responsive Classroom into every K-5 classroom.  That, along with our Second Step counseling curriculum and lessons from Teaching Tolerance, is a potent combination to help students develop positive social skills such as empathy, compassion, teamwork and collaboration.  These skills are essential for students to grow academically.  These skills also help students interact with one another more positively and lay the groundwork for a more inclusive and welcoming environment.

After APS announces how instruction will be delivered in 2020-21, the leadership team and I will put more specifics in place to ensure this work continues within the framework of either in person or distance learning.  As a part of that, I will reach out to Dr. Duran, our new Superintendent, as well as Mr. Gregory to attend functions with the Abingdon community to help address concerns of our staff, parents and larger community.

As to how you can help your students at home process these events, please visit our counseling website.  There is a growing number of resources about equity, talking to your students about race and other topics.

Thank you for your continued work and support in making APS and Abingdon truly special places to live and work.

 

David Horak, Principal