讀寫

希爾斯通女士– elizabeth.hailstone@apsva.us

萊希女士—— kelly.leahey@apsva.us

穆勒女士—— maryclare.moller@apsva.us


閱讀與寫作研討會

Abingdon 小學的主要目標之一是幫助每個孩子培養對閱讀和寫作的熱愛。 無論您的孩子已經是一個狂熱的讀者還是不願意拿起一本書,我們都有很好的資源來增強他或她對語言藝術的理解。


車間模型

小組教學是根據學生的個人需求量身定制的。 通常,閱讀或寫作研討會課程可以包括以下內容:

  • 迷你課程:學生們聚集在一起,老師展示了明確的閱讀或寫作策略。
  • 獨立工作:學生獨立或與伴侶一起練習策略。
  • 分享:一個或多個學生與全班分享他們的工作。

閱讀研討會的重要組成部分是小組閱讀和一對一的會議。 提供了大量時間供獨立閱讀。 學生可以在閱讀期間選擇自己的書。 在寫作工作坊中,孩子們也獨立工作。 從幼兒園開始,鼓勵兒童用紙和鉛筆表達自己。 在學生獨立工作的同時,老師們拉小組或與個人舉行會議。


什麼是單詞學習?

如果您不熟悉阿靈頓縣的學校,您會想知道為什麼您的孩子帶回家幾張紙條,將它們分成幾列,並稱其為“單詞學習”作業。 為什麼對學生對這些單詞進行排序有幫助? 單詞學習是一種基於研究的,發展合理的拼寫學習方法。 單詞學習不給學生記憶的單詞列表,而是讓學生通過弄清楚字母的樣式和聲音來弄清楚拼寫和閱讀的意義。 我們的學生沒有讓班上的每個學生都學習相同的拼寫單詞,而是以自己的速度進步,學習他們何時需要知道的知識。 孩子們通過將單詞分為幾類,解釋為什麼要加入該組,在句子中寫單詞,尋找書中的拼寫功能以及使用單詞進行遊戲來做到這一點。

對於家長來說,讓學生在寫時拼錯某些單詞似乎也很奇怪。 我們要求兒童只有在通過單詞研究了解了單詞的拼寫特徵之後,才對單詞的拼寫負責。 我們從學生如何拼錯單詞中學到了什麼,而我們卻學到了很多,這就是所謂的“使用但混淆”拼寫功能。 這有助於我們確定何時準備好使用新的拼寫功能。

Reading and Writing

Ms. Hailstone – elizabeth.hailstone@apsva.us

Ms. Leahey – kelly.leahey@apsva.us

Ms. Moller – maryclare.moller@apsva.us


Reading and Writing Workshop

One of the primary goals of Abingdon Elementary is helping each child develop a love for reading and writing. Whether your child is already an avid reader or reluctant to pick up a book, we have wonderful resources to enhance his or her understanding of language arts.


Workshop Model

Small group instruction is tailored to students’ individual needs. Typically, a reading or writing workshop lesson can includes the following:

  • Mini-lesson: students gather together and the teacher demonstrates an explicit reading or writing strategy.
  • Independent Work: students practice the strategy independently or with a partner.
  • Share: one or more students share their work with the class.

An essential part of reading workshop is small group reading and one-on-one conferences.  Extensive time is provided for independent reading. Students are able to chose their own books during reading time. During writing workshop, children also work independently; from kindergarten onward, children are encouraged to express themselves with paper and pencil.  While students work independently, teachers pull small groups or conference with individuals.


What Is Word Study?

If you’re new to Arlington County schools, you will be wondering why your child brings home little slips of paper, puts them into columns, and calls this his or her “word study” homework. Why is it helpful for students to sort these words? Word study is a research-based, developmentally appropriate way to learn spelling. Instead of giving students lists of words to memorize, word study lets students figure out how to make sense of spelling — and reading — by figuring out letter patterns and sounds. Instead of making every student in a class study the same set of spelling words, our students progress at their own rate, learning what they need to know when they need to know it. Children do this by sorting words into groups, explaining why they go in that group,  writing the words in sentences, hunting for the spelling feature in books, and playing games with the words.

It can also seem odd to parents that we let students misspell some words when they write. We hold children accountable for spelling a word only after they understand the spelling features in that word through their word study. And we learn a lot about what our students know and don’t know by how they misspell their words – what we call “using but confusing” a spelling feature. That helps us decide when they’re ready to move on to a new spelling feature.