Übergang zur Mittelschule

Jedes Jahr arbeitet das Abingdon-Beratungsteam zusammen mit den Abingdon-Lehrern der 5. Klasse daran, Schülern und Familien der 5. Klasse Ressourcen, Informationen und Unterricht rund um den bevorstehenden Übergang der Schüler zur Mittelschule zur Verfügung zu stellen! Dies ist eine aufregende Zeit für Familien, kann aber für viele auch eine neue Erfahrung sein. Wir hoffen, so viele Informationen wie möglich zur Verfügung zu stellen, um alle Fragen zu beantworten und Ängste vor dem Übergang abzubauen. Diese Lektionen finden normalerweise im Winter (Januar / Februar) statt. Wenn Sie Fragen haben, wenden Sie sich bitte an Ihre Lehrerin der 5. Klasse oder an Frau Mullinax, Schulberaterin.

Wo soll man anfangen?

Wenn Sie nicht sicher sind, welche Mittelschule Ihr Kind besuchen soll, wenden Sie sich an die Arlington County Boundary Locator.

In der Regel werden Abingdon-Schüler auf die folgenden Schulen aufgeteilt: Gunston Middle School, Kenmore Middle School und Jefferson Middle School - wobei einige Schüler per Lotterie in die Schule aufgenommen werden HB Woodlawn Sekundärprogramm.

GunstonLogo Kenmore_logo_home jefferson_logo_home
Gunston Mittelschule Kenmore Mittelschule Jefferson Mittelschule

Weitere Ressourcen

Fragen zum Praktikum in der Mittelschule?

Fragen oder Bedenken?

Wenden Sie sich an den Schulberater von Abingdon. Sarah Mullinaxbei Fragen oder Bedenken.

APS School Talk - 11

Die Arlington Public Schools nehmen ab sofort bis Freitag, 15. Januar 2021, um 4:XNUMX Uhr Bewerbungen für weiterführende Optionsschulen und -programme an Webseite für SchuloptionenAlle Familien müssen sich jedes Jahr für die Option Schulen oder Programme bewerben, an denen sie interessiert sind, um in die Lotterie aufgenommen zu werden, da die Wartelisten jährlich nach der Lotterie zurückgesetzt werden. Familien, die sich für eine weiterführende Schule oder ein Programm bewerben möchten, sollten einen Antrag über die Online-Bewerbungsportal.Im Folgenden finden Sie die Zeitleiste für den Antragsprozess für Schulen und Programme:

  • Januar 15, 2021: Die Anwendung "Sekundäre Optionen" wird geschlossen.
  • Januar 29, 2021: Lotterien für alle sekundären Optionen und Transferanträge werden virtuell abgehalten. Links werden kurz vor den Lotterien mit Familien geteilt.
  • Februar 8, 2021: Familien werden über ihre Annahme oder Platzierung auf einer Warteliste informiert.
  • Februar 22, 2021: Familien müssen den Besuch einer Schule oder eines Programms bestätigen oder ablehnen.

Die Verfügbarkeit von sekundären Nachbarschaftstransfers wird den Familien am 11. Februar 2021 bekannt gegeben. Wenn Nachbarschaftstransfers verfügbar sind, können Familien zwischen dem 22. Februar 2021 und dem 15. März einen Nachbarschaftstransfer zu einer anderen sekundären Nachbarschaftsschule beantragen Für weitere Informationen oder Fragen zu weiterführenden Schulen und Programmen wenden Sie sich bitte an das APS Welcome Center unter der Nummer 2021-703-228 oder schooloptions@apsva.us.

Middle School Transition

Every year, the Abingdon Counseling Team, along with the Abingdon 5th Grade Teachers, work to provide 5th grade students and families with resources, information, and lessons around student’s upcoming transition to middle school!  This is an exciting time for families but can also be a new experience for many.  We hope to provide as much information as we can to answer all questions and ease any anxieties about the transition.  These lessons typically take place in the Winter (January/February).  If you have any questions, please reach out to your 5th grade teacher or Ms. Mullinax, school counselor.

Where to start?

If you’re not sure which middle school your child is slated to attend, make sure to check with the Arlington County Boundary Locator.

Typically, Abingdon students are split up between the following schools: Gunston Middle School, Kenmore Middle School, and Jefferson Middle School – with a few students being accepted, by lottery, to HB Woodlawn Secondary Program.  If you are interested in exploring other options for your child, visit APS Middle School Options & Transfers page for more information – including an overview of countywide schools and programs, how to apply, and dates for school information sessions.

GunstonLogo Kenmore_logo_home jefferson_logo_home
Gunston Middle School Kenmore Middle School Jefferson Middle School
Kenmore Information Night 2023

Other Resources

APS Middle School Information Night 2022-23

Middle School Information Sessions

APS Middle School Option Schools and Programs

APS Middle School Transfer Process

APS Middle School Program of Studies 2019-2020

Programa de estudios de las escuelas medias 2019-2020

“Getting the Most Out of Middle School” Booklet

Questions about Middle School Math placement?

Check the APS Math Department Website for more information

Questions or concerns?

Feel free to reach out to Abingdon School Counselors, Sarah Mullinax or Renee Edwards, with any questions or concerns.

APS School Talk – 11/3/2020

Arlington Public Schools is now accepting applications for secondary option schools and programs until Friday, January 15, 2021, at 4 p.m. The process for applying to secondary option schools and programs is available on the school options webpage.All families will need to apply for the option schools or programs they are interested in every year to be included in the lottery because waitlists reset annually after the lottery occurs. Families interested in applying to a secondary option school or program should complete an application through the online application portal.The following is the option schools and programs application process timeline:

January 15, 2021: The Secondary Options application closes.

January 29, 2021: Lotteries for all secondary options and transfers applications will be held virtually. Links will be shared with families shortly before the lotteries.

February 8, 2021: Families will be notified of their acceptance or placement on a waitlist.

February 22, 2021: Families must confirm or decline attendance to a school or program.

The availability of secondary neighborhood transfers will be announced to families on Feb. 11, 2021. If there is availability for neighborhood transfers, families will be able to apply for a neighborhood transfer to another neighborhood secondary school between Feb. 22, 2021 – March 15, 2021.For additional information or questions about secondary option schools and programs, please contact the APS Welcome Center at 703-228-8000 or schooloptions@apsva.us.