Переход в среднюю школу

Каждый год консультационная группа Абингдона вместе с учителями 5-го класса Абингдона работают над тем, чтобы предоставить ученикам 5-го класса и их семьям ресурсы, информацию и уроки, связанные с предстоящим переходом ученика в среднюю школу! Это захватывающее время для семей, но для многих это может стать новым опытом. Мы надеемся предоставить как можно больше информации, чтобы ответить на все вопросы и облегчить любые опасения по поводу перехода. Эти уроки обычно проходят зимой (январь / февраль). Если у вас есть какие-либо вопросы, обратитесь к учителю 5-го класса или г-же Муллинакс, школьному консультанту.

Когда начать?

Если вы не знаете, в какую среднюю школу будет ходить ваш ребенок, обязательно уточните у Указатель границы округа Арлингтон.

Как правило, ученики Абингдона делятся между следующими школами: средняя школа Ганстон, средняя школа Кенмора и средняя школа Джефферсона, причем несколько учеников принимаются по лотерее в Программа HB Woodlawn Secondary.

ГанстонЛого Kenmore_logo_home jefferson_logo_home
Средняя школа Gunston Средняя школа Кенмора Средняя школа Джефферсона

Другие ресурсы

Есть вопросы о размещении в средней школе по математике?

Вопросы или опасения?

Не стесняйтесь обращаться к школьному консультанту Абингдона, Сара Маллинакс, с любыми вопросами или проблемами.

Обсуждение школы APS - 11

Государственные школы Арлингтона в настоящее время принимают заявки на участие в школах и программах средней школы до 15:2021 пятницы, 4 января XNUMX года. Процесс подачи заявки в школы и программы средней школы доступен на веб-страница вариантов школыВсе семьи должны будут ежегодно подавать заявки на участие в лотерее в школах или программах, которые им интересны, потому что списки ожидания обновляются ежегодно после проведения лотереи. Семьи, заинтересованные в поступлении в среднюю школу или программу, должны заполнить заявку через портал онлайн приложений.Ниже приводится график подачи заявок в дополнительные школы и программы:

  • Январь 15, 2021: Приложение Secondary Options закроется.
  • Январь 29, 2021: Лотереи по всем вторичным опционам и заявкам на переводы будут проводиться виртуально. Ссылки будут переданы семьям незадолго до лотереи.
  • Февраль 8, 2021: Семьи будут уведомлены об их принятии или помещении в список ожидания.
  • Февраль 22, 2021: Семьи должны подтвердить или отказаться от посещения школы или программы.

О доступности вторичных переездов по соседству будет объявлено семьям 11 февраля 2021 года. Если будет возможность перевода по соседству, семьи смогут подать заявку на перевод по соседству в другую районную среднюю школу в период с 22 февраля 2021 года по 15 марта. , 2021. Для получения дополнительной информации или вопросов о средних школах и программах, пожалуйста, свяжитесь с центром обслуживания APS по телефону 703-228-8000 или schooloptions@apsva.us.

Middle School Transition

Every year, the Abingdon Counseling Team, along with the Abingdon 5th Grade Teachers, work to provide 5th grade students and families with resources, information, and lessons around student’s upcoming transition to middle school!  This is an exciting time for families but can also be a new experience for many.  We hope to provide as much information as we can to answer all questions and ease any anxieties about the transition.  These lessons typically take place in the Winter (January/February).  If you have any questions, please reach out to your 5th grade teacher or Ms. Mullinax, school counselor.

Where to start?

If you’re not sure which middle school your child is slated to attend, make sure to check with the Arlington County Boundary Locator.

Typically, Abingdon students are split up between the following schools: Gunston Middle School, Kenmore Middle School, and Jefferson Middle School – with a few students being accepted, by lottery, to HB Woodlawn Secondary Program.  If you are interested in exploring other options for your child, visit APS Middle School Options & Transfers page for more information – including an overview of countywide schools and programs, how to apply, and dates for school information sessions.

GunstonLogo Kenmore_logo_home jefferson_logo_home
Gunston Middle School Kenmore Middle School Jefferson Middle School
Kenmore Information Night 2023

Other Resources

APS Middle School Information Night 2022-23

Middle School Information Sessions

APS Middle School Option Schools and Programs

APS Middle School Transfer Process

APS Middle School Program of Studies 2019-2020

Programa de estudios de las escuelas medias 2019-2020

“Getting the Most Out of Middle School” Booklet

Questions about Middle School Math placement?

Check the APS Math Department Website for more information

Questions or concerns?

Feel free to reach out to Abingdon School Counselors, Sarah Mullinax or Renee Edwards, with any questions or concerns.

APS School Talk – 11/3/2020

Arlington Public Schools is now accepting applications for secondary option schools and programs until Friday, January 15, 2021, at 4 p.m. The process for applying to secondary option schools and programs is available on the school options webpage.All families will need to apply for the option schools or programs they are interested in every year to be included in the lottery because waitlists reset annually after the lottery occurs. Families interested in applying to a secondary option school or program should complete an application through the online application portal.The following is the option schools and programs application process timeline:

January 15, 2021: The Secondary Options application closes.

January 29, 2021: Lotteries for all secondary options and transfers applications will be held virtually. Links will be shared with families shortly before the lotteries.

February 8, 2021: Families will be notified of their acceptance or placement on a waitlist.

February 22, 2021: Families must confirm or decline attendance to a school or program.

The availability of secondary neighborhood transfers will be announced to families on Feb. 11, 2021. If there is availability for neighborhood transfers, families will be able to apply for a neighborhood transfer to another neighborhood secondary school between Feb. 22, 2021 – March 15, 2021.For additional information or questions about secondary option schools and programs, please contact the APS Welcome Center at 703-228-8000 or schooloptions@apsva.us.