Second Grade

Abingdon’s Second Grade Team


Emily Bennett – emily.bennett3@apsva.us

Sara Edmonds- sara.edmonds@apsva.us

Rebecca Madrona – rebecca.madrona@apsva.us

Chelsea Sachse – chelsea.sachse@apsva.us

Lori Willden- lori.willden@apsva.us

Jillian Cimilluca- jillian.cimilluca@apsva.us

Helen Ryan- helen.ryan@apsva.us

Kim Chi Crittenden- kim.crittenden@apsva.us

Jeremy Blaine- jeremy.blaine@apsva.us

Lauren Meehan- lauren.meehan@apsva.us

 


Second graders are immersed in a variety of learning experiences using their multiple intelligences to improve their critical thinking, creativity, and problem solving skills.  Our reading program focuses on building strategies to foster independent reading.  Our young authors are busy writing their own books while emulating skills of published authors that we use as mentor texts.   In social studies and science, students and teachers are learning the Changing Education Through the Arts (CETA) model to demonstrate understanding of various concepts.  In math, students are using a variety of strategies to problem solve and see real life application.  All 2nd grade students are in a 2:1 iPad program, meaning that students work in pairs or take turns with the iPad that they use throughout the day.  The second grade team is grateful for the continual support of the parents and guardians.

DSC00520