Kindergarten

Abingdon’s Kindergarten Team


Sara Tyson – sara.tyson@apsva.us & Lina Veizaga- lina.veizaga@apsva.us 

Sara Platt- sara.platt@apsva.us & Anna Strachan- anna.strachan@apsva.us  & Anna Richey- anna.richey@apsva.us  

Mary Cantwell- mary.cantwell@apsva.us & Clare Mclean- clare.mclean@apsva.us 

Olympia Carranza- olypia.carranza@apsva.us & Corinne Kramer- corrinne.kramer@apsva.us

Kristi Maddox- kristi.maddox@apsva.us & Kotriana Roper- kotriana.roper@apsva.us 

Carly Altenberg- carly.altenberg@apsva.us & Filly Barrientos- fily.barrientos@apsva.us

Lauren Meehan- lauren.meehan@apsva.us & Amanda Loayza Vela- amanda.loayza@apsva.us & Julia Olanyk – julia.olanyk@apsva.us

 

Lorena Reyes-Andrade- lorena.reyes@apsva.us 

Julia Winkler- julia.winkler@apsva.us

 


This semester in math, Kindergartners have been busy. We learned to read, write and count numbers from 1 to 50, using 5 and 10-groups. We worked with repeating patterns and sorting using shapes. We explored the concepts of addition and subtraction through exploring number partners to 6 using plus, minus, equal and non-equal signs. Students have learned to read and create graphs.

We can read! Our Kindergarteners are reading just right books tailored to their needs. Daily guided reading instruction allows the students to practice and learn reading strategies. Daily centers enhance and reinforce literacy objectives.Word Study and Handwriting Without Tears are two additional focuses of our language arts instruction. Literacy is a fundamental part of our day.

Students write every day and will compose for a variety of purposes. Classes have engaged in writing like scientists, writing small moments and creating personal books. Next semester, students will begin to write “How to Books”.

Through our partnership with the Kennedy Center, Kindergarteners are learning good citizenship through Living History. As the year progresses, the students will be introduced to additional strategies for fluent reading and writing.