مدرستنا

المهمة والرؤية

يبني أبينجدون علاقات هادفة من خلال تعزيز بيئة شاملة في جميع أنحاء مجتمعنا. نحن ملتزمون بتحدي وتمكين جميع المتعلمين.

هدية المشروع

أبينجدون هدية المشروع يسعى (التوجيه من خلال الفنون الجميلة والتكنولوجيا) إلى زيادة تحصيل الطلاب من خلال دمج الفنون الجميلة والتكنولوجيا في المناهج الدراسية الأساسية. يوفر برنامج المدرسة لكل طالب تعليمات شخصية على مدار اليوم في نموذج تعليمي تعاوني. لقد طورنا شراكة مع برنامج CETA التابع لمركز جون إف كينيدي (تغيير التعليم من خلال الفنون). توفر هذه الشراكة لموظفينا أنشطة التطوير المهني في تكامل الفنون. كما أنه يوفر لطلابنا الفرصة لحضور أحداث الفنون الجميلة وكذلك العمل مع الفنانين الزائرين داخل فصولهم الدراسية.

فيما يلي مثال على "تكامل الفنون الجميلة والتكنولوجيا" في الفصل الدراسي:

لعبة صغيرة الموافقة المسبقة عن علم

يستخدم Abingdon أيضًا برامج محو الأمية المنظمة لتعزيز تعليم فنون اللغة من خلال ورش عمل القراءة والكتابة. يعمل مدرب الرياضيات مع معلمي الصف الخامس (K-5) لتطوير وحدات الرياضيات التي تتطلب من الطلاب استخدام مهارات تفكير ذات مستوى أعلى ومجموعة متنوعة من مواد الرياضيات لحل مشكلات الرياضيات.

يتوافق برنامج Abingdon التعليمي مع هدف مدارس Arlington العامة لتعليم جميع الطلاب مجموعة واسعة من المعرفة ومهارات الاتصال الفعال ونظام التفكير العقلاني والتفكير الإبداعي. الميزة الفريدة لبرنامج Abingdon التعليمي هي القضاء على معظم الإصدارات المبكرة الأربعاء. سيحضر جميع طلاب أبينجدون المدرسة خمسة أيام كاملة. سيؤدي هذا إلى زيادة الوقت التعليمي لطلابنا بحوالي ثلاثة أسابيع.

من خلال Project GIFT ، يشارك جميع طلاب Abingdon في فصول Abingdon المتخصصة ذات العجلات. وتشمل هذه معمل العلوم ، والهندسة المعمارية ، والتاريخ الحي ، والتكنولوجيا ، والإسبانية ، والموسيقى ، والكمان ، والفن ، و PE.

تاريخ التنمية

سميت مدرسة أبينجدون الابتدائية على اسم ألكسندر كوستيس ستيت القديم ، أبينجدون. ولد كل من جورج واشنطن وبارك كوستيس ونيللي كوستيس في منزل أبينجدون. افتتحت المدرسة في عام 1950 للمساعدة في التخفيف من الاكتظاظ في مدرسة فيرلينغتون الابتدائية. كانت أبينجدون موطنًا لمجموعة متنوعة من البرامج التعليمية ، بما في ذلك الانغماس الأسباني. في عام 2002 ، تم نقل برنامج الانغماس الأسباني إلى مدرسة كليرمونت الابتدائية. بعد الكثير من النقاش والبحث ،  هدية المشروع تم إنشاء وتنفيذ برنامج (التوجيه من خلال الفنون الجميلة والتكنولوجيا) في 2002-2003. يستمر مشروع GIFT في النمو والتطور. على مر السنين ، أضفنا دورات جديدة للعجلات ، مثل تاريخ المعيشة والإسبانية. لقد أضفنا أيضًا فرصًا تدريبية في التكنولوجيا والفنون.

جدول مدرسي

  • الإثنين - الجمعة: 8:00 صباحًا - 2:41 مساءً
  • أيام الإصدار المبكر: 8:00 صباحًا - 12:26 مساءً

Our School

Mission and Vision

Abingdon builds meaningful relationships by fostering an inclusive environment throughout our community.  We are committed to challenging and empowering all learners.

Project G.I.F.T.

Abingdon’s Project GIFT (Guiding Instruction through Fine Arts and Technology) seeks to increase student achievement by integrating fine arts and technology into the core curriculum.  The school’s program provides each student personalized instruction throughout their day in a collaborative teaching model.  We have developed a partnership with The John F. Kennedy Center’s CETA Program (Changing Education Through the Arts). This partnership provides our staff with professional development activities in arts integration. It also provides our students with the opportunity to attend fine arts events as well as work with visiting Teaching Artists within their classrooms.

Here is an example of “Fine Arts and Technology Integration” in the classroom:

tiny toy pic

Abingdon also utilizes structured literacy programs to enhance Language Arts instruction through Reading and Writing Workshops.  A math coach works with teachers K-5 to develop math units that require students to use higher level thinking skills and a variety of math materials to solve math problems.

Abingdon’s instructional program is consistent with Arlington Public Schools’ goal to teach all students a broad body of knowledge, effective communication skills, a rational system of thought, and to think creatively. A unique feature of Abingdon’s instructional program is the elimination of most early release Wednesdays. All Abingdon students will attend school five full days. This will increase instructional time for our students by approximately three weeks.

Through Project GIFT, all Abingdon students participate in Abingdon’s Specialty Wheel Classes.  These include science lab, architecture, living histories, technology, spanish, music, violin, art, and PE.

History

Abingdon Elementary School is named after the old Alexander Custis Estate, Abingdon. George Washington, Parke Custis, and Nelly Custis were all born in the Abingdon House. The school opened in 1950 to help alleviate the overcrowding at Fairlington Elementary.  Abingdon has been home to a variety of instructional programs, including Spanish Immersion. In 2002, the Spanish Immersion program was moved to Claremont Elementary School.  After much discussion and research,  Project GIFT (Guiding Instruction through Fine Arts and Technology) was created and implemented in 2002-2003.  Project GIFT continues to grow and evolve. Throughout the years we have added new wheel courses, such as Living Histories and Spanish. We have also added coaching opportunities in technology and the arts.

School Schedule

  • Monday-Friday: 8:00 a.m. – 2:41 p.m.
  • Early Release Days: 8:00 a.m. – 12:26 p.m.