我們學校

使命與願景

Abingdon 通過在整個社區營造包容的環境來建立有意義的關係。 我們致力於挑戰並賦予所有學習者權力。

GIFT項目

阿賓登的 GIFT項目 (通過美術與技術指導教學)旨在通過將美術與技術納入核心課程來提高學生的學習成績。 學校的課程以協作式教學模式為每一位學生提供全天的個性化指導。 我們已經與 約翰·肯尼迪中心的CETA計劃 (通過藝術改變教育)。 這種合作關係為我們的員工提供了藝術融合方面的專業發展活動。 它還為我們的學生提供了參加美術活動的機會,以及與教室中的客座教學藝術家合作的機會。

這是教室中的“美術與技術整合”示例:

小玩具圖片

Abingdon 還利用結構化的識字計劃,通過閱讀和寫作研討會加強語言藝術教學。 一位數學教練與 K-5 教師合作開發數學單元,這些單元要求學生使用更高層次的思維技能和各種數學材料來解決數學問題。

阿賓登的教學計劃與阿靈頓公立學校的目標一致,該目標是教所有學生廣泛的知識體系,有效的溝通技巧,合理的思想體係並進行創造性思考。 Abingdon教學計劃的獨特之處在於消除了大多數星期三的早期發行版。 所有Abingdon學生將上學整整五天。 這將為我們的學生增加大約三週的教學時間。

通過GIFT項目,所有Abingdon學生都可以參加Abingdon的專業車輪課程。 其中包括科學實驗室,建築,生活史,技術,西班牙語,音樂,小提琴,藝術和體育。

歷史

Abingdon小學以Abingdon的舊Alexander Custis Estate命名。 喬治·華盛頓(George Washington),帕克斯·庫斯蒂斯(Parke Custis)和內莉·庫斯蒂斯(Nelly Custis)都出生在阿賓登故居。 該校於1950年成立,旨在緩解Fairlington Elementary小學的人滿為患。 阿賓登(Abingdon)一直是各種教學計劃的所在地,包括西班牙浸沒式課程。 2002年,西班牙浸入式課程移至克萊蒙特小學。 經過大量討論和研究,  GIFT項目 (通過美術與技術指導教學)於2002-2003年創建並實施。 GIFT項目不斷發展壯大。 多年來,我們增加了新的車輪課程,例如“生活史”和“西班牙語”。 我們還增加了技術和藝術方面的教練機會。

學校時間表

  • 週一至週五:8:00 am – 2:41 pm
  • 提前發布天:8:00 am – 12:26 pm

Our School

Mission and Vision

Abingdon builds meaningful relationships by fostering an inclusive environment throughout our community.  We are committed to challenging and empowering all learners.

Project G.I.F.T.

Abingdon’s Project GIFT (Guiding Instruction through Fine Arts and Technology) seeks to increase student achievement by integrating fine arts and technology into the core curriculum.  The school’s program provides each student personalized instruction throughout their day in a collaborative teaching model.  We have developed a partnership with The John F. Kennedy Center’s CETA Program (Changing Education Through the Arts). This partnership provides our staff with professional development activities in arts integration. It also provides our students with the opportunity to attend fine arts events as well as work with visiting Teaching Artists within their classrooms.

Here is an example of “Fine Arts and Technology Integration” in the classroom:

tiny toy pic

Abingdon also utilizes structured literacy programs to enhance Language Arts instruction through Reading and Writing Workshops.  A math coach works with teachers K-5 to develop math units that require students to use higher level thinking skills and a variety of math materials to solve math problems.

Abingdon’s instructional program is consistent with Arlington Public Schools’ goal to teach all students a broad body of knowledge, effective communication skills, a rational system of thought, and to think creatively. A unique feature of Abingdon’s instructional program is the elimination of most early release Wednesdays. All Abingdon students will attend school five full days. This will increase instructional time for our students by approximately three weeks.

Through Project GIFT, all Abingdon students participate in Abingdon’s Specialty Wheel Classes.  These include science lab, architecture, living histories, technology, spanish, music, violin, art, and PE.

History

Abingdon Elementary School is named after the old Alexander Custis Estate, Abingdon. George Washington, Parke Custis, and Nelly Custis were all born in the Abingdon House. The school opened in 1950 to help alleviate the overcrowding at Fairlington Elementary.  Abingdon has been home to a variety of instructional programs, including Spanish Immersion. In 2002, the Spanish Immersion program was moved to Claremont Elementary School.  After much discussion and research,  Project GIFT (Guiding Instruction through Fine Arts and Technology) was created and implemented in 2002-2003.  Project GIFT continues to grow and evolve. Throughout the years we have added new wheel courses, such as Living Histories and Spanish. We have also added coaching opportunities in technology and the arts.

School Schedule

  • Monday-Friday: 8:00 a.m. – 2:41 p.m.
  • Early Release Days: 8:00 a.m. – 12:26 p.m.